The application of federal law can be divided into eight main departments More than 40% of all federal penal provisions have been promulgated since 1970. This means that dozens of crimes that were once considered state crimes now fall under federal jurisdiction. It is now common for federal law enforcement agencies to work closely with state and local law enforcement agencies to bring federal criminals to justice. [1] The U.S. federal government authorizes various law enforcement agencies to enforce law and order with respect to matters affecting the country as a whole. [2] There are dozens of law enforcement agencies in all sectors of government; Did you know there are five? The DEA is responsible for enforcing laws regarding controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine and heroin. They work with other federal, state and local agencies, as well as foreign governments, to reduce illegal drug trafficking. In general, federal agents deal with specific types of federal crimes, such as human trafficking, fraud, or murder. Homeland security includes Customs and Border Protection, Immigration and Customs, and U.S. intelligence, which protects the president, vice president, and other government officials. The Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Drug Enforcement Administration, and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives work to deter and investigate crimes and arrest criminal suspects; The Marshal Service works to protect the federal judiciary, while arresting refugees and detaining offenders in federal custody; the Bureau of Prisons imprisons convicted offenders; and the Department of National Security organizes national security, counterintelligence, surveillance of foreign intelligence agencies and counter-terrorism.

What you`ll do: Federal law enforcement officers have similar responsibilities to state and local police officers. Officers enforce the law, investigate crimes, collect and obtain evidence, write reports for prosecutors, arrest criminals, and testify in court. A federal police force is technically prohibited by the U.S. Constitution, but instead we have so-called federal law enforcement agencies. The reason for this is that the founders of the nation believed that the best way to maintain a democratic government was to leave law enforcement decentralized and in the hands of individual states. That is, it is necessary to have federal authorities to enforce different types of laws, so the distinction between the federal police and the authority of the federal police is mainly a matter of semantics. Federal law enforcement is divided into eight main departments, or eight branches of the federal police: the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); Central Intelligence Agency (CIA); Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE); Bureau of Alcohol, Firearms and Explosives (ATF); Department of Homeland Security; U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA); U.S. intelligence; and the U.S.

Marshall Service. Although they are not called branches of the federal police, the reality of the situation is that some U.S. law enforcement agencies are in the hands of the federal government. Here`s a summary of what these different agencies are doing: The U.S. Marshall Service is the oldest federal police force in the country. They are responsible for the safe transfer of federal prisoners and the protection of federal courts and judges. They also serve as a covert enforcement of U.S. airlines` law. Five federal law enforcement agencies you may not be familiar with The CIA is a top-secret federal police whose job it is to collect and evaluate foreign intelligence to protect the security of the United States. You may also be involved in covert activities in other countries at the discretion of the President of the United States. They are very committed to the fight against international terrorism, often cooperating with other countries. Candidates for federal law enforcement jobs must pass a written, oral and medical exam, a physical assignment test, a polygraph exam, and a psychological assessment.

You must also have a valid driver`s license and undergo a background check. Finally, candidates must be at least 21 years of age at the time of appointment but under 37 years of age. The U.S. Department of Justice was once the largest and still the largest collection of federal law enforcement agencies. He has held most of the prosecution functions at the federal level[4] and includes the United States Marshals Service (USMS), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), the Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP), and others. The Department of Justice (DOJ), which is part of the executive branch of the Federal Government, is responsible for the application of the law and the administration of justice. The Department of Justice`s budget for fiscal year 2012 was $26.8 billion, of which $13 billion was allocated to its law enforcement agencies and $8.2 billion to federal prisons. From the founding of the federal government`s oldest law enforcement agency, the United States Marshals Service, in 1789, through the reorganization of our nation`s law enforcement agencies, to the creation of the Department of Homeland Security in 2002, federal law enforcement has undergone significant changes to address today`s greatest risks.

Federal law enforcement agencies in the United States are more than two hundred years old. For example, the postal inspection service can trace its origins back to 1772,[5] when it was in the United States.